ASD NEST

​The ASD Nest program is a program for high functioning students with ASD that takes place in an integrated co-teaching class in a community school. The ASD Nest program mission is to help children learn how to function well academically, behaviorally and socially in school and in their community. The program provides an educational therapeutic environment in which the requisite supports are provided by a team of specially trained educators and therapists.

Ms. Hopman

ASD NEST Coach

rhopman@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Amato

ASD NEST Cluster

mamato20@schools.nyc.gov

ASD Coach and Cluster

​What We Do:

  • Utilize social supports to promote a positive lunch experience

  • Provide an alternative quiet space to the lunchroom

  • Sensory Functioning & Self-Regulation Supports

  • Behavioral Supports

  • Social Supports

  • Academic/Curriculum Supports

  • Minimize Student Anxiety

  • Facilitate Break Procedures

Speech Language Pathologist

Speech Language Pathologists Paige Klein and Kathryn Lenti provide mandated speech therapy to children with high-functioning autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) in the Nest program at P.S. 19. Social Development Intervention (SDI) is the social therapeutic intervention taught in tandem with academics in the ASD Nest program.  SDI is based on the developmental language model, relationship development, and social cognitive theories and is used to remediate the social and pragmatic language skills of children with ASD. Our students improve these skills in a dynamic, exciting and naturalistic setting within their social group.  We build their competence and motivation to participate with their peers through fun, engaging, group activities! 

Ms. Klein

MA, CCC-SLP, TSSLD

pklein@schols.nyc.gov

Ms. Gordon

 MA, CCC-SLP, TSSLD 

tgordon15@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Groman

ASD NEST Occupational Therapist

lgroman@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Verdino

ASD NEST Occupational Therapist

cverdino@schools.nyc.gov

Occupational Therapy

Information coming soon!

212-533-5340

185 1st Avenue, New York, NY 10003